Adapt, adept & finding gratitude

3 lessons from my time backpacking for 2 weeks.

Spokers, 

The dirt is starting to dissipate from my fingernails as I type out this newsletter. I just got back from my 3 week Wild Gift Fellowship up in Idaho, including a 2 week backpacking trip. 

While Circle and Spoke centers biking, I’m sharing 3 takeaways from this recent backpacking trek…

1- Be Adaptable 

A lot of stuff hit the fan in the midst of the trek. 

Wildfires. A group member got Covid. Malfunctioning Tent Zippers. Broken mugs thanks to pesky rodents. 

These things weren’t particularly fun, but they asked of me and the group to adapt/adapt/adapt. 

Just like how species adapt over millennia thanks to the advantages certain traits have, in a short period of time mother nature brought forth challenging conditions that caused me to adapt. Learning to adapt to those circumstances was important to be able to actually find some peace and enjoyment from the experience. 

  • Rather than getting to drink 12 ounces of tea from my mug, the glass was still half full! I could drink 6 ounces of tea and avoid the hole courtesy of the ground squirrel. 

  • Rather than hiking in the White Cloud Mountains, I got to enjoy the Pioneer Mountains and end the trek at a beautiful yurt with a wood burning sauna! 

  • Rather than sleeping with a closed tent, I could still use the rainfly to stay dry and embraced resting in an open tent. 

Adapting! Rather than heading to a smoky section of Idaho, I got to enjoy the majesty of the Independence Lakes region! Photo courtesy of Jacinta Gordon

2- Surround yourself with an adept team

Our guide and support staff were incredibly supportive ensuring that our trip could run smoothly in the midst of these circumstances. Having this adept team, that knew the terrain, had contacts in the Forest Service, and was deeply knowledgeable about backpacking made adapting possible.

  • At one point, a member of the team was calling a local gear store in a town 2 hours away at 8:30am to get a boots on the ground smoke forecast. What a pro investigative move!

  • They knew how to help me consolidate my gear and how to coach me through the tears as I felt stabbing pain in my left shoulder. Yahoo folks who can support in both the physical and emotional!

  • They cheered me on as I set the pace for the group on a steep climb. I love a good affirming cheerleader!

3- Give thanks

Despite being a very extroverted individual, being in the backcountry with 6 individuals for nearly 2 weeks wasn’t always smooth sailing.

In those moments where conflict and challenge arose between individuals or in the group, I leaned into gratitude. One morning, I invited the group to look around and think of one thing that they were grateful for about each member of the group. In their head and heart, they acknowledged one thing they were grateful for to each person . 

People started to reference that exercise days after. Amazing how an exercise that you do completely in your head and takes 90 seconds sticks with people.

I found this a helpful exercise to support me in not dismissing others and keeping love and appreciation center, even when times were tough. 

Being in the outdoors is both challenging and rewarding and I’m so grateful to share with you these three lessons:

Be adaptable, Surround yourself with an adept team, Give thanks 

Most likely, something this week will test you, like I was tested on this backpacking trek.

Perhaps a flat tire while biking to work. Or an unkind comment shared in passing with a loved one. Or some challenging anxiety. 

May you: find the strength to adapt, have an adept team and community that lifts you up, and find gratitude for those moments and people who have fallen short. 

Oh and one last thing… make sure to offer some gratitude towards yourself!

Wheels up, 

Ellen

PS- Want to take pause in your life to rejuvenate your spirits? Register today for our next ride!

Pedal & Pause: A Rejuvenating Escape on Sunday, October 6th from 10:30am- 4:00pm

If you’re an outdoorsy gal who is ready to recharge your energy with a posse of down-to-earth gals as you bike and slow your roll, then join us for a rejuvenating escape where you are going to come away with a renewed, wonder-filled spirit ready to embrace the twists and turns of the season.