Perhaps Einstein wasn't totally right?

Einstein is quoted saying, “To keep your balance, you must keep moving.” Perhaps, there's something he was missing.

If you just subscribed to Circle and Spoke’s Newsletter, welcome! We are happy to have you here. 

At Circle and Spoke, we are all about biking. We love it! And while we love to bike for the sake of biking, we think biking provides a lot of lessons and metaphors that can help you strengthen your inner world to support you in living life out of the saddle. 

Today’s newsletter is all about getting back in balance.

Over the summer, I took a 4 day bike tour of the San Juan Islands in Washington State. On the last day of the tour, before I had hopped on the bike, dear friends I hadn’t seen in years had texted me. They had planned to pick me up from the ferry terminal after my tour finished, would drive me back to Seattle, and I’d then stay with them before heading home the next day.

Unfortunately, their message informed me that they had been exposed to Covid-19 and suddenly I was feeling out of balance, sad and worried. I had been looking forward to catching up and meeting their child for the first time. In addition to feeling worried for their health, I was now having to figure out how to get to Seattle and find a hotel for the night. The sense of worry was pumping through my veins, but I gathered myself and approached one of the gals on the ride, who was heading to Portland, Oregon and she happily agreed to drop me off in Seattle.

Moments later, the bike guides shared it was time to hit the road. We had a huge 3 mile hill to cycle down to exit Moran State Park. I was equal parts excited and terrified, yet in the saddle, I was feeling quite wobbly. The three prior days I felt quite strong and stable and I was suddenly in my head concerned about my wobbliness. After three days of great riding, I couldn’t figure out what had caused MY imbalance. I suddenly believed that somehow the change of plans and news from my friends was making me feel off center on the inside and was translating itself to being not in full balance on the bike. I was trying to shift my thoughts into being more accepting and compassionate of this change in plans, so the wobbliness would stop. I was befuddled how this news was messing with my groove.  But yet, the wobbliness persisted. And then like a falcon, I was flying down this curvy 3 mile hill, albeit very turbulently. 

I hit the brakes more than I would have liked and made it down the hill and started up the smaller incline. My rhythm and groove were totally off and this was really bothering me. And as I pedaled up the small climb, an inner voice told me to stop. I was feeling really out of sorts and out of balance on the bike and I needed to pause and get out of the saddle, reset, and take a few breaths. I pulled over to the side of the road, got off the bike and took some breaths. It was then that I decided to check my bike tires.

The front tire was severely deflated. Presumably, I had started the ride that morning like that. Suddenly the mental fog lifted. I was throwing kerosene on the fire believing that this news from my friends was shaking me out of my balance and suddenly my groove was gone. A deflated tire was throwing me out of balance more than anything. This was an equipment issue. 

My two feet on the ground, I was getting in balance with my body and breath. Getting off the bike was shifting gears into speaking my truth and feeling realigned. Feeling out of balance was a solvable problem. I needed an inflated tire and a few minutes later, the sag wagon came by and I got the bike pump and about 2 miles after that I hit the ride’s pit stop and they put a new wheel on the bike.  

This experience taught me a lot, including not slacking on a daily ABC Quick Check, and how in life when I’m feeling out of balance, sometimes I have to literally get off the bike. Trying to change my perspective or ride it out may not actually be of service. Listening to my inner voice and taking a pause to breathe and feel my balance again, might reveal what I was resisting seeing, so that I can with integrity get back into the saddle and continue with more strength and alignment. 

Albert Einstein is quoted saying, “Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.But perhaps, Einstein was missing something key. In life to keep your balance, you sometimes need to stop and take inventory. And then getting back in the saddle is all about resilience (a juicy topic for a future newsletter 😉).

So dear reader, what helps you get back in balance and back out there when things are feeling off or wobbly? For me, I sometimes need to pause and take some deep breaths. At other moments, visiting my aunt and uncle’s dog roots me. Occasionally, my blood sugar is low and I need a snack.

Do you struggle with pausing when things are feeling wobbly and out of balance? Is getting back in the saddle (both literally or metaphorically) hard for you when you have been experiencing a setback? What supports you in getting back in balance? 

I am SO interested to hear from you.

Wheels up (pause, rest and repeat), 

Ellen