New beginnings start with listening

Yesterday afternoon I hit the gym and it felt so empowering to finish off 2023 with a ride. But I’d be lying if I didn’t say what was going on prior. In fact, I was dragging my feet most of the day to actually go workout and upon coming home around 5:30pm, this inner voice said go put on your bike shorts and let’s go for a spin ride. Yes, there was part of me that wanted to go watch some more trash reality TV and another part of me was ready to throw a pity party wishing I had a more exciting night ahead for my NYE, but I put those thoughts aside and got into my bike shorts and went down to my apartment building’s gym room. Someone was on the recumbent bike, next to the spin bike and I really wanted some space to ride, so I went upstairs, ran across the street to my gym (For a future newsletter, why I have access to two gyms within 3 minutes of my bedroom) in the freezing cold and I discovered the gym was open for 15 more minutes. I hopped on the bike and turned up the resistance and rode.

Biking was such a big part of my 2023, having gone from not even knowing what a bike pannier was (the bike bags you can attach to a rack) to challenging myself to bike from DC to Pittsburgh along the C&O Canal and Great Allegheny Passage for the first time. Wrapping up 2023 with a moment of getting into the saddle felt so right, but it almost didn’t happen if I hadn’t listened to that inner voice. There is something so empowering about being able to carry yourself from point A to point B on a bike. And yesterday on a spin bike and I was moving from from inner resistance to empowerment thanks to a quick ride.

“The beginning is always today.”

Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley

New Year’s Day and January is that month where people create resolutions, particularly about getting in shape and going to the gym.

Circle and Spoke is all about empowering women to shift gears in your life in and out of the saddle. We aren’t here to sell you a diet or exercise regime. We believe cycling is for all bodies and all abilities. We believe you don’t have to have the swankiest gadgets, have been on a bike recently or always be beating your personal record to enjoy cycling. Whether this January 1st is a day that you hit the trail to go for a ride, cuddle with your favorite furry friend or find yourself stuck in a tin can flying home, today is the start of your 2024. And may through listening to your inner voice, you gain clarity on what you desire to move towards this year. May 2024 offer you the opportunity to reflect, to grow and to challenge yourself in your goals.

Happy New Year,

Ellen