What supported you to be resilient? 

3 things I've learned about resilience from members of this community

Resilient Spokers, 

What’s a moment that tested you? What supported you to be resilient? 

Last week, I gathered with friends, family and members of the Circle and Spoke Community to celebrate with a send off bike ride. Why?

Annually, the Wild Gift Fellowship honors 5 young entrepreneurs from North America, launching ventures that have social and environmental impact, through a fully funded three week long backpacking trek in Idaho. I’m honored to be a 2024 Wild Gift Fellow and am heading off soon for the trek! 

Trekking for three weeks is a test. A test of endurance, self- awareness, community building and more. 

This trek is about developing resilience. 

At the celebration bike ride, I asked:

What’s a moment that tested you? What supported you to be resilient? 

Here are three things that I’ve heard: 

  • One: It’s important to lean into your inner circle to receive support when the going gets tough.  

  • Two: It’s important to celebrate successes (like my send off ride) because it allows you to lean on your inner circle in not just the hard times, but the good ones. That energy of celebration rubs off on those who celebrate, including people in your life who are flexing a lot of resilience because they’re going through a rough spot.

  • Three: Inspiration including from thought leaders and books can provide a perspective shift and source of solace. 

What’s a moment that tested you? What supported you to be resilient?

Drop me a line at [email protected]. I’d love to learn from YOU!

Wheels up, 

Ellen 

PS– We want to support YOU! We are having a daylong retreat on Sunday, October 6th in the Greater Washington DC area and we’d love your input on the theme of the day.

PPS- Has Circle and Spoke had an impact on you? I’d love for you to celebrate through making a gift to my friendraiser for Wild Gift, the non-profit that has honored me with my upcoming fellowship. I am nearly halfway to reaching my goal of raising $5,000 for Wild Gift! All gifts are fully tax deductible!