Resilience strengthens us

Resilience is more than just a buzz word. It supports our health and wellbeing when the going gets tough.

Resilient Spokers, 

Last week, I asked, What’s a moment that tested you? What supported you to be resilient? (Missed that newsletter? Read it now)

And the subject of resilience is ripe like an end of summer peach, so welcome to Part 2!

This month, someone who is struggling with some health issues was confiding in me about how that isn’t the only health issue she’s struggling with (for the sake of privacy, I’m not divulging the issues). 

So I started to dig. 

Was there any connection between her primary and secondary health issues? 

And what academia revealed was a resounding YES. And for those individuals who were more resilient, they typically experienced less of the secondary health issue. 

Resilience strengthens us. Resilience protects us. 

There is actually a Resilience Scale that medical professionals use to understand a person’s resilience.

Questions on the Resilience Scale range from: 

  • I can get through difficult times because I've experienced difficulty before.

  • I am friends with myself. 

  • My belief in myself gets me through hard times. 

Life involves climbs and moments where it feels like your wheels keep spinning, but your forward momentum is nil. In those moments of being tested, resilience is key. 

Thankfully resilience isn’t something that’s set in stone from birth. Like a muscle, we can grow it and strengthen it over time.

Next week, I’ll be sharing about ways to grow your resilience! 

In the meantime, take a breath and put down your phone or close your computer. What recently supported you to be resilient? 

Ponder that for 2 minutes and see what juiciness unfolds. 

Cheering you on resilient spokers!

Wheels up, 

Ellen 

PS- Teaser alert, movement and rest help us be more resilient!

If you’re an outdoorsy gal who is ready to recharge your energy with a posse of down-to-earth gals as you bike and slow your roll, then join us for a rejuvenating escape where you are going to come away with a renewed, wonder-filled spirit ready to embrace the twists and turns of the season.

Pedal & Pause: A Rejuvenating Escape Sunday, October 6th from 10:30am- 4:00pm

Learn more and register plus use code escape by 9/2 at 11:59pm ET and get the early bird special of $15 off