A strategy from a decorated Olympian

Katie Ledecky sharing about the power of community to get you to the finish line

Last week I was sharing about feeling the Olympic fever and I am feeling it! 

Watching Katie Ledecky perform in the 1500 m swim last week left me in awe. This is a grueling 15 minute plus swim at sprint force speeds.  

In her poolside post swim interview she reflected what was on her mind as she swam:

I kind of let my mind wander during the race, thinking of all the people that have trained with me, just kind of saying their names in my head and thinking about them.

Katie Ledecky

Sadly, I can’t find the video clip, but the Today show had the quote. 

Just two weeks ago, I talked about this very strategy when the going gets tough (Read that post here). Bring to mind folks who you care about to cheer you on. It helps to make the climb more easeful! Katie in a moment of tremendous athletic endurance and strength had her training buddies on her mind. 

Research shows this technique to be amazingly powerful! And if you needed more proof in the pudding, take it from one of the most decorated Olympians. 

  • So who are those people in your life who are ready to cheer you on as you climb? 

  • Who have you trained with or studied with who want to see your success? 

  • Who's on your team? 

In this coming week, you might be swimming solo, but who can metaphorically get in the pool with you and help cheer you onto the finish? 

Wheels up, 

Ellen 

PS- For those of you who are DC based I’d love for you to cheer me on as I head off to Idaho for a 3 week long backpacking trek. I’ve been awarded the Wild Gift Fellowship and I’m celebrating on Thursday, August 15th from 5:30- 8:00pm at Peirce Mill in Rock Creek Park. More details + RSVP here!